Taskforce of aerospace sector leaders created

The Société du Palais des congrès de Montréal has announced the creation of its new Major Aerospace Events Commitee. This group of experts consists of representatives from eight Montréal aerospace sector leaders: Aéro Montréal, CRIAQ, Bombardier Aerospace, McGill University, ÉTS engineering school, National Research Council of Canada — Aerospace, Morpho Canada and Montréal International.

Greater Montréal is among the world’ biggest aerospace centres, along with Seattle and Toulouse, and has the second highest density of aerospace jobs worldwide. The taskforce’s work will help attract new major conventions and events to the city, and will contribute to further anchoring Montréal’s standing within the industry.

The commitee is co-chaired by Hany Moustapha, professor and director of AÉROÉTS, Palais Ambassador and member of the Palais’ Ambassadors Club advisory board, and Suzanne M. Benoît, Chief Executive Officer of Aéro Montréal, the province’s aerospace cluster. A committee of leaders from another sector of excellence of the Quebec economy is also expected to emerge by the end of the year.