2018 Recognition Award Gala salutes emerging researchers

Emerging researchers were honoured at the 2018 Recognition Gala, in collaboration with the Fonds de recherche du Québec (FRQ) and the Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail (IRSST).

Winners of The Relève Étoile Awards honoured at the Gala

The “Relève étoile” competition is organized by the three research branches of the Fonds de recherche du Québec. It recognizes the excellent research being conducted by young researchers and helps foster research careers within Québec universities. At the Gala, Serge Marchand, Scientific Director of the FRQ, paid tribute to this year’s three award recipients:


Kha-Han-Lisa-DangPrix Relève étoile Louis-Berlinguet, Fonds Nature et technologies (Fund supporting the natural sciences and engineering)

Kha Han Lisa Dang, PhD student in Physics, McGill University

Award-winning paper: “Detection of a westward hotspot offset in the atmosphere of hot gas giant CoRoT-2b,” published in Nature Astronomy


Catherine-BelangerPrix Relève étoile Jacques-Genest, Fonds Santé (Fund supporting the health sciences)

Catherine Bélanger, PhD student in Biochemistry, UQAM

Award-winning paper: “Dysregulation of cotranscriptional alternative splicing underlies CHARGE syndrome,” published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences


Maude-BrunetPrix Relève étoile Paul-Gérin-Lajoie, Fonds société et culture (Fund supporting the social sciences and humanities, arts and letters)

Maude Brunet, Postdoctoral intern in Construction Engineering

Award-winning paper: “The governance of major public infrastructure projects: the process of translation,” published in the International Journal of Managing Projects in Business


Winners of the 2018 IRSST – Ambassadors Club Award

The Palais des congrès de Montréal and the Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail (IRSST) have decided to coordinate their actions and resources in order to help promote OHS research by attracting major national and international conferences to Montréal.

Together, they introduced the IRSST – Ambassadors Club award in 2018, and the very first recipients of the award were presented at the Gala by IRSST President and CEO Marie Larue, in recognition for bringing the 26th International Congress on Sound and Vibration (ICSV26) to Montréal. Congratulations to:

Jeremie-VoixJérémie Voix, ETS school of engineering






Franck Sgard, IRSST